(773) 962-3900
New Patient Portal


Home · Who We Are · Leadership

Charles A. Holland, Jr.

President and Chief Executive Officer

“Every hospital has a story. Ours has always been one of hope, of rejuvenation, of affirmation that people in this community and every community all deserve the same access to high quality healthcare. We are focused on seeing and treating the whole person. We exist to ensure dignity for every person. This mission, in this part of Chicago, is essential and I feel a tremendous sense of duty to help St. Bernard carry it forward for decades.”

Roland Abellera

Chief Operating Officer

St. Bernard Hospital and its dedicated healthcare team are innovative, enthusiastic, and determined in their relentless pursuit to improving the quality of our services. Recent expansion of outpatient program offerings have paved the way to becoming an Integrated Delivery Network (IDN) where the entire spectrum of customer needs can be met.
It has been my professional and personal privilege to serve at St. Bernard Hospital, an organization that embodies a true sense of mission and ministry..”

Robert Springer

Chief Financial Officer

“Our values at St. Bernard of caring, promoting wellness and delivering compassion and respect guide everything we do – including our long-term financial plan and how we prioritize our budget. Our careful economic stewardship represents Catholicism in action -- a commitment to being responsive to where the needs are greatest. I approach my role everyday with the goal of making certain we can provide the right resources to those who depend on us.”

Yolanda Penny

Chief, Nursing Services

"I believe providing quality, safe and compassionate nursing care to the Englewood community is our number one goal.  Our ability to provide needed services from our comprehensive emergency department to follow up in our ambulatory care center, is our commitment to improving the health and well-being to the Englewood community."


Chief Hospital Support & Community Engagement Officer

“We break every stereotype one might expect of a safety net hospital in Englewood. Once you enter our doors, meet the people and experience the personal touch we deliver here, you understand why we are essential, why our culture makes the difference – and why we believe we will thrive for decades to come.”

Michael Richardson

Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer

Michael Richardson, MHSc, RN, BSN, CPPS, CPHRM, joined the executive team in September 2021 as Patient Safety and Quality Officer. Mr. Richardson leads the patient safety and quality team, ensuring that healthcare services are provided with an intense focus on reaching a goal of zero harm, preventing errors and delivering patient satisfaction.

St. Bernard Hospital

Board of Trustees

Patricia Merryweather-Arges
Board Chair, Executive Director at Project Patient Care

Charles Holland
Board member, President and CEO

Olalekan Sowade, M.D.
Board member, Chief of Staff

Daria Terrell, M.D.
Board member, President of the Medical Staff

George Dengler, D.O.
Board member, Emergency Department Chair

Raj Khurana, M.D.
Board member

Mary Pokorny, O.P.
Board member

Joanne Delehanty, O.P.
Board member

Elizabeth Van Straten, RHSJ
Board member

Michael Cleavenger
Board member, Executive Director, Ragdale Foundation

Gerald M. Dew, D. Min
Board member, Pastor, Antioch Missionary Baptist Church

Carol Collum, Ed.D.
Board member, Chief Executive Officer, True Believers Community Connections

Felicia Slaton-Young
Board member, Executive Director, Greater Englewood Chamber of Commerce

Powered by Americaneagle.com
Scroll to Top